Analyzing New Song From JAY Z Called “Open Letter”


JAY Z has released a new song called “Open Letter“. In it Jay capitalizes [cough] responds to the recent media attention he’s received after travelling to Cuba. The song was posted on youtube less than 3 days ago [on the 11th] and has garnered over 770,000 views and  4,411 comments.

jay-z-beyonce-cuba

I might buy a kilo for Chief Keef
Out of spite, I just might flood these streets
Hear the freedom in my speech
Got an onion from Universal, read it and weep
Would’ve brought the Nets to Brooklyn for free
Except I made millions off it, you f**kin’ dweeb
I still own the building, I’m still keeping my seat
Y’all buy that bulls**t, you’d better keep your receipt
Obama said “chill, you gonna get me impeached”
We don’t need this s**t anyway
Chill with me on the beach

-Jay Z

The internets have been talking and this is what they are saying:

Jay-Z’s ‘Open Letter’ Impeachment Rap is Bad News for Obama

Carney: ‘The President Did Not Communicate With Jay-Z’

Jay Z: Open Letter (Reaction)

There were plenty of thought provoking lyrics. I’ve always felt that that’s part of what lyrics should do. I’m too lazy to attempt to break it down right now. Perhaps I’ll try a lyric analysis after I listen to “Open Letter” a few more times. A YT user named Nich Neon posted a comment under the song that stood out most to me though:

“f**k jay always talkin this i ‘ll flood the streets. [It’s] funny how black people praise those who scream they got rich poisoning they’re own. steppin on the backs of they’re own. actin like the oppressors of they’re own. this dude ain’t dropped a jewel in his lifetime.yeah the song.like crack was new.like pimping is new.this monkey educates setbacks,that’s why he isnt dead yet…”

-Nich Neon

Nich Neon though angry has probably the most piercing criticism I’ve read yet.Jay Z Tweet




• To get the updates follow subzinfo on Facebook or Twitter.

• Do you have a google account? Join the forum on Youtube.

About ilisten2lyricz

iListen2Lyricz
This entry was posted in Recent Releases, www.sub-z.info and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Analyzing New Song From JAY Z Called “Open Letter”

  1. Pingback: Senator Marco Rubio vs. [Sean Carter] Jay-Z [Was Che' Guevara Really A Racist?] | Click here for latest music news (full color articles)

Leave a Reply

